The end of the line

I’ll post another post with the same title when I get to this point in the blog updates, but I felt it necessary to post in real time.

Today marks the end of the trip, but certainly not the end of the adventure. Life is the real adventure. And I intend to make the most of it!

I’m leaving DC a few days earlier than my original goal in order to try to give back and help out at home as part of the relief effort for Hurricane Sandy. Today I will ride through the battered shoreline of New Jersey, pass the flooded streets of lower manhattan, and return to Cortlandt Manor where there is still no power.

It’s a surreal feeling for it to be coming to a close, but I’m ready for it. I’m ready to keep the adventure going in this amazing thing called Life.

Thank you all for following and for the support you’ve given me throughout. I could not have done it without out you, and I’m glad you were able to be there with me in some way.

I woke up this morning in the house I was staying in to find two guys sleeping on the couch. Both were friends of one of the roommates. Tomorrow, one of them will be sailing from Annapolis to St. Marteen in the Caribbean. As my journey comes to a close today, his will begin tomorrow. It’s as if the circle of life is continuing. It’s my time to step aside and let others open their eyes to the beauty of this world.

After stopping to chat with him for a few minutes, I knew I had to get going but realized we had not yet introduced ourselves properly. So I extended my hand and said:

“Hi, my name is Dan. Enjoy the ride.”

3 thoughts on “The end of the line

  1. Congrats Dan, been fun following along! Hope your loved ones weren’t too affected by the storm. Already got my plane ticket for back home, Dec. 1st-29th, so if its not too cold then, lets go out for a ride!

Leave a Reply

